Fiber Optic Cabling Standards Webcast | October 27, 2016

Fiber Optic Cabling Standards Webcast | October 27, 2016

By: Rick Dallmann | Senior Data Center Infrastructure Architect

 

At CABLExpress, we are always excited to take part in events to help data center professionals get a better understanding of industry standards and trends. With that in mind, I’m proud to announce that I will be presenting during a webcast with Cabling Installation & Maintenance magazine.

Fiber Optic Cabling Standards

  •      October 27, 2016
  •      1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT
  •      Approved for 1 BICSI ITS CEC*

View the archived webcast here.

Insights into the TIA-942 Standard

My portion of the webcast will feature a discussion of some upcoming revisions to the TIA-942 cabling standard. Currently in draft form, the TIA-942-B standard will revise cabling specifications for data center facilities.

Among the revisions from the current-generation, 942-A standard, are several specifications addressing fiber optic cable, connectivity, and architectures. My presentation will examine aspects of the forthcoming 942-B standard that are fiber-related.

Impact of the TIA-942 Updates

With the updates to the TIA-942 standard approaching, including the addition of new fiber standards and connector platforms to achieve upcoming high-speed requirements (such as 25, 40, 50, 100 and 400Gb), optical infrastructure performance has never been more critical. The reliability and performance of a data center’s optical connectivity becomes even more essential to ensure the optimum performance of its hardware.

It is imperative to implement a layer one infrastructure that not only supports legacy and current speeds and transmission methods, but will allow existing infrastructures to migrate to these emerging data rates, connector platforms and transmission methods. The challenge comes in effectively designing a structured cabling infrastructure to support a lifespan of 10 to 20 years, without having to significantly reconfigure layer one infrastructure.

Don’t Miss It!

I hope you’ll register for what promises to be an informative and valuable webcast. Also presenting will be representatives from Fluke Networks and OFS, speaking on the subjects of ANSI/TIA-492AAAE Wideband Multimode Fiber and Standardizing the Encircled Flux Launch Condition respectively.

I’m looking forward to the presentation. Keep in mind the webcast is approved for 1 BICSI ITS CEC*. Hope you can join us!

View the archived webcast here.

 

*The granting of 1 Continuing Education Credit for this webcast by BICSI does not imply or suggest that BICSI approves or endorses the event.